top of page
  • Writer's pictureSamantha McCoy

Thank You, 2017! Hello, 2018!

Wow! To say that 2017 was full of surprises is an understatement! I can honestly say that I have evolved so much in the past year and continue to look forward on my journey to healing from rape. Many times I thought that I could not carry on any longer and doubted myself and my abilities. Rape has a way of making you feel as if you are not a human anymore. It took everything about me and crushed it into a million pieces. I thought I would never be the same again, especially at my lowest point.

However, something AMAZING and WONDERFUL happened. I was right that I would never be the same person again...I became someone better and someone that I am proud of! The perpetrator took everything I had, but did not take who I became! I am by no means saying that I am perfect and I still have plenty of work to do, but for the first time in my life I am PROUD when I look in the mirror.

Magical things that happened when I defined my OWN life in 2017:

I was chosen as the keynote speaker for various speaking events

I was chosen to be on panels for survivors educating law enforcement

I traveled to Manhattan to be apart of a survivor magazine!

I was interviewed by many news report platforms and been in the news

I had my writing published by news outlets

Congresswoman read my story at a speak out event on the news!

I received many thanks from survivors and helped other women find their voice

I traveled out of the country to meet badass survivors, who became amazing friends!

I was on the radio to share my story!

I graduated with my Master's degree and became a licensed mental health therapist

I moved across the country... again! for more amazing experiences!

I lost over 50 pounds and started treating my body with love and affection!

I have even more amazing opportunities coming in 2018! (I do not want to ruin the surprise!)

I think that every survivor has such amazing potential inside of themselves and I want to continue to grow and heal, while helping others along the way. What happened to me was not my fault. The shame is not with me. I did not commit a crime. I was violated in the worst way I think possible (besides murder). I had many, many hardships as well along the way. There is always struggle when there are accomplishments.I was turned away by many people. I lost so many friends that I am pretty sure I lost track. I have heard some very hurtful comments about what happened to me. I have met resistance and people who do not fully comprehend the devastation of rape.

I do not want to make rape seem like something that is great, because it destroyed who I was for years. However, I do want survivors to know that THEY ARE WARRIORS! Survivors are a powerful force that deserve to have their voices heard!

To the beautiful and amazing survivors across the world:

I want you to know that I believe you and I am so, so sorry for what you have been through. What happened to you is NOT your fault and it is not okay. Every dark day will end and you will be one step closer to healing from this. Do not give your power to the perpetrator! They might have taken so much of you, but you are not that person anymore! You are blossoming into someone so amazing and talented! You have made it through something horrendous and you will shine! Give yourself time and love and you will SOAR!

I am so ready to explore 2018 with an open heart and a determined mind! My warrior face is ON and I am ready to fight and advocate for rape survivors! I will not rest until we are all respected and heard <3

Keep fighting, warriors!

11 views0 comments
bottom of page